APHA Expert and SIG Call-ins:
Schedule of Upcoming Calls

Teleconferences with Guest Experts or Special Interest Groups
on Topics of Interest to Patient Advocates and Care Professionals

 
Looking for call in / dial in details and numbers?  They will be emailed to registered participants, usually twice; once the day prior, and again a few hours before the call. We do not post them here, because PIN numbers may be changed. 

If you believe you should have received the call-in numbers, please check your spam folder first before contacting us.

 

Hoping to register for a Connect! with Anne call?  Be sure to use the correct registration form - NOT the Expert Call-in form. If you use the wrong form, you will not be registered.

 


rsvpbutton

GNA – and You! How "GNA" - Greater National Advocates Will Grow Our Profession

Monday, October 29

7 PM eastern / 6 PM central / 5 PM mountain / 4 PM pacific

 You’ve heard the rumblings… GNA, Greater National Advocates, is breaking onto the professional advocacy scene. You may have even been invited to participate, but just don’t understand what it’s all about.
So – we’ll tell you!

Brad Schwartz, the founder of GNA will be our guest for this call. He’ll answer questions like: What is Greater National Advocates? Why was it established? What are its goals and how do they affect you and your practice? Is GNA going to replace APHA or NAHAC? (No! And we’ll tell you why.) Why should you get involved? Do you have to join? Or CAN you?

Join this call if your interest is in promoting the concept of advocacy to help patients better understand how they benefit – and how you can benefit from participation with GNA.

You’re invited to submit questions up to three days prior to the call.

Register for this call.


 


Connect! with Anne

Working with Dysfunctional Families: Tips on How to Stay Sane

Thursday, November 1

12 noon eastern / 11 AM central / 10 AM mountain / 9 AM pacific

Adult siblings aren’t speaking, but they need to agree on the next steps for Mom, who really needs to move to a nursing home. One bullying spouse makes pronouncements and accusations at the other spouse – who must make decisions about cancer treatment. Son, who is footing the bill for your advocacy services, insists on reports after every doctor appointment, but Dad, the patient, refuses to allow you to talk to his son. You feel stuck in the middle, frustrated with lost and missed communications, and yet, you want to do the best by your client.

This call is for those who have dealt with dysfunctional patient families and have real-world scenarios to share, or those who anticipate having to deal with dysfunction in the future and hope to define a few tactics for dealing with them before they are called to do so.

Meet Anne, and learn more about Connect! with Anne calls.

Reminder: Registration for Connect! with Anne calls is limited and usually closes very quickly.

Register for this call.


 


Connect! with Anne

Overcoming Objections

Tuesday, November 13

12 noon eastern / 11 AM central / 10 AM mountain / 9 AM pacific

  • I can’t afford an advocate – you’re too expensive!
  • If my insurance doesn’t cover your expenses, I’m not interested.
  • I got an advocate for free at the hospital, so why should I pay you?

Once people understand what you do for a living, and they realize they’ll be required to pay you, they may come up with all kinds of objections. They already feel like their healthcare is too expensive – why should they be required to cover still another expense?

These, and other objections are regular fare for long-time advocates. Spend some time with Anne discussing how and what to say to those who might make great clients if you can just get them past their reasons for not hiring you.

Meet Anne, and learn more about Connect! with Anne calls.

Reminder: Registration for Connect! with Anne calls is limited and usually closes very quickly.

Registration for this call will begin in early November.


 


rsvpbutton

Advance Directives Aren’t Enough: Helping Your Clients Die in Peace

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

7 PM eastern / 6 PM central / 5 PM mountain / 4 PM pacific

Advocates who work with patients reaching the end of their lives may come to realize that, in many instances, advance directives just seem so… inadequate. While directives may spell out what should happen if a medical crisis occurs, or who should inherit Gramma’s crystal, they may not prevent people from ending up dying in situations that many say they would prefer not to experience.

Is it possible, as advocates, to help our clients set the stage for a peaceful death? The answer is “yes,” by coupling advocacy skills with a deepened understanding of the factors leading to the types of demises that people hope directives will prevent. The factors are generations-old and still prevalent. They are predictable and sequential—and we can learn a lot about them.

Bart Windrum, end-of-life reform advocate, and author of two books on dying including his most recently published, The Promised Landing: A Gateway to Peaceful Dying, will be our guest expert for this call. Bart will help us understand why we over-rely on advance directives. He will explain a set of related obstacles to peaceful dying and how we can mitigate their detrimental effects.

For you, as an advocate, this conversation will provide a solid basis for conversations with – and appreciation from – your clients and their family members. Don’t be surprised if you begin to consider your own path to a peaceful death affected, too.

Registration for this call will begin in mid-February.